No Permit Required
Kansas will become the first campus-carry state where students do not need permits to carry guns while on campus
Just four years ago, Kansas legislature votes that concealed weapons were to be allowed in public buildings. Two years after that, permits were no longer required for those who decided to carry a concealed weapon. And now, that ruling is hitting ground on campuses around the state.
In 2013, when the campus-carry law was approved, the ruling provided 4 years for colleges to comply. Up until now, Kansas colleges could prohibit guns on campus and could install metal detectors and security guards at building entrances, but the costs of taking those precautions would be more than prohibitive and could also cut into class times if students were to have weapons on them before entering those buildings.
Beginning this July, any person 21 years of age and older can carry concealed weapons on state college campuses without having a permit or any training. So, what does that mean exactly? Well, if you can pass a background check and legally own a gun, you can take it to college with you so long as it’s concealed.