Texas Governor Appoints Eight To Texas School Safety Center Board

Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Lizeth Cuellar and Michael Slaughter, Ph.D. to the Texas School Safety Center Board for terms set to expire Feb. 1, 2021. Additionally, he has appointed Terri Oldham and reappointed Craig Bessent, Bryan Hedrick, Andrew Kim, Kerri Ranney, and Alan Trevino for terms set to expire on Feb. 1, 2022. The board reports to the governor, the legislature, the State Board of Education, and the Texas Education Agency regarding school safety and security, and advises the center on its function, budget, and strategic planning initiatives.

Lizeth Cuellar of Laredo is the Gear Up facilitator with Laredo Independent School District. She is a member of the Texas Farm Bureau, and currently sits as a board member for Webb County. She is a charter member of Innovative Teachers of Texas. Cuellar received a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from St. Mary’s University and a Master in Business Administration from the University of the Incarnate Word.

Michael Slaughter, Ph.D. of Wylie is the assistant principal at Wylie High School. He is a member of the Association of Texas Professional Educators and the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals. Additionally, he volunteers with Habitat for Humanity. Slaughter received a Bachelor of Arts in Christian Studies from Union University a Masters of Education in Educational Technology Leadership from Lamar University, and is currently pursuing a Doctor of Philosophy in General Psychology from Grand Canyon University.

Terri Oldham of Jarrell is a clinical therapist at Pathways Counseling Group. She is a member of the American Psychological Association and the National Association of Social Workers. Oldham earned a bachelor’s degree in Social Work from the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and a master’s degree in Social Work from Baylor University.

Craig Bessent of Abilene is the assistant superintendent with Wylie ISD in charge of school operations, school safety, and security. He is a Texas School Marshal and a member of the Texas Association of School Administrators, Texas Association of Pupil Transportation, and Combined Law Enforcement of Texas. Bessent received a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Education from Texas Tech University and a School Superintendence Certification form Abilene Christian University.

Bryan Hedrick of Hereford is the director of Special Services for the Hereford Independent School District and is the Constable for Deaf Smith County. He has over 38 years of law enforcement experience, with 28 of those years spent focused on school safety. He earned his Texas Peace Officer license from the Panhandle Regional Law Enforcement Academy and a vocational teaching certificate from Wayland Baptist University.

Andrew Kim of New Braunfels is the superintendent of schools at Comal Independent School District. He is a member of the Texas Association of School Administrators and Fast Schools Growth Coalition. Kim received a Bachelor of Arts in Medieval Studies from Fordham University and a Master of Education in Education Administration from The University of Texas at Austin, and he is a graduate of the superintendent program at University of Texas at Arlington.

Kerri Ranney of Georgetown is vice president of educational practice at Huckabee. She is a registered architect and a member of the Texas Society of Architects, American Institute of Architects, and the Association for Learning Environments. Ranney received a bachelor’s degree in Environmental Design from Texas A&M University and a Juris Doctor degree from South Texas College of Law.

Alan Trevino of Burnet is owner and president of Sentry Security & Investigations, L.P., and is a licensed master peace officer, with over 20 years of law enforcement experience. He is a member of the Texas Association of Licensed Investigators and served as president of the Associated Security Services and Investigators of the State of Texas. He was also appointed by Governor Abbott to the Texas Private Security Board, where he served as Vice Chairman, he is also currently a member of the Public Safety Commission's Private Security Advisory Committee. Trevino is honorably retired from the Texas Department of Public Safety, where he was second in command and detail leader for Governor Bush’s det

Digital Edition

  • Campus Security & Life Safety Magazine - May / June 2023

    May / June 2023


    • How Hospitals Use Video to Improve IAQ, Patient Satisfaction
    • Extending the Perimeter on Campus Security and Safety
    • Hybrid Access Control in Campus Environments
    • Streamlining K-12 Safety and Security Grant Writing

    View This Issue